Hmm…so today I did this.

IMG_0069

Ok. I wont’ lie. The last week or so has been difficult. I’ve had a few rounds with homesickness, but tonight I won. But Mrs. Emeigh, you say. You don’t get home sick you say. I thought so too. If there is one thing that I’ve already learned from this experience, it’s that you’re not always sure of who you are until you throw yourself into something. Sometimes you just have to look at yourself in the mirror, take charge of your life resetting experience, and say what the hey I’m going that way.

Tonight I can truly say that’s what I did. After a little bit of being overwhelmed, and a little more of being a scardy cat, I just threw caution to the wind and went out. I ended up having yet another very rewarding experience that showed me that I can communicate and that my Japanese isn’t quite so good. Well I knew that already.

In my earlier wanderings, which yes I will talk about most likely tomorrow. I spotted a very small restaurant tucked beneath a bullet train over pass. It wasn’t open both times I passed, so today, as I was getting out of the shower, I made it my destination for better or for worse.

The front of the building was a very traditional shop front. It was lined with the bamboo screen, lanterns, and sliding frosted glass that many buildings have. What I did not realize, until I got inside that is, was that the establishment wasn’t quite open. Yes I know, stupid Mrs. Emeigh read the sign. I walked in brash as anything to the shocked look of the two men who run the restaurant and then realized my mistake. They weren’t quite open yet.

I asked desperately if it was ok in my broken Japanese. He assured me it was fine, and I took a seat at the bar. The place probably doesn’t sit more than ten people at best. None of the menu was in English and to top it all off most of it was in kanji. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m studying my butt off, but I don’t know that many kanji. The chef very kindly read the menu to me, and when he came to something I recognized I ordered. There was some confusion about what specific kind I should have, so instead of trying to puzzle it out, I simply asked him what he liked and ordered that.

IMG_0026
Free-ish stuff that comes at the beginning of the meal. This was daikon radish tossed with some kind of light sesame dressing. It was really good.

What I ended up ordering was a plate of very lightly sesame oil fried chicken wings. They were so good I forgot to take a picture. Thankfully there is a picture of the bones to go with my next purchase. Since four chicken wings wasn’t quite enough to tide me over, I asked him what he recommended. What he recommended is below, along with my already consumed chicken wings.

IMG_0027

As I sat and ate my monster portion of food, which I later realized should be shared, I ended up being introduced to some of the more regular patrons. They asked me several questions, most of which I managed to answer, and seemed to be genuinely kind. They wanted to know where I worked, how long I was staying, where I was from. To the best of my abilities I managed to answer.

After what was an awesome meal, I made my way across the street to the super market or Suupaa. It’s a lot more elegant looking in Japanese. I picked up a few essentials but was over awed at the full shelf worth of one of my favorite things, furikake. Furikake is a salty seasoning used over plain rice. It’s eaten sometimes as breakfast and sometimes for lunch. I honestly can’t get enough of the stuff. It comes in a variety of flavors and so far they are all yummy.

 IMG_0029

After a successful shopping trip, I took one look at the sky and decided it was time to head home. There is a Taifun coming up through the island of Shikoku soon. We aren’t supposed to get much more than rain, but it’s done some pretty interesting things to the clouds. It got really angry and rumbled a few times on my way home.

IMG_0030

Also as a last note. I was home getting into my jammies when the door bell rang. I was not expecting anyone at all. Apparently during the day a package had come for me from the internet company I’m going to be signing up with. They’d already sent along a brand new router to go along with the internet install that’s happening Sunday at my apartment. No wonder start up costs for utilities can be so much. Heck, it’s a small price to pay for one gig download speed on a fiber optic connection. Suck it Google!

4 thoughts on “Hmm…so today I did this.

  1. Soon you will be so busy, you won’t have time to be homesick. You have a lot of courage to do this. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

